Home Page

Baseball Analysis Home  Bruce Baskin / Latin Insider

B a s e b a l l   M e x i c o

May 27,  2 0 1 6

Mexican League All-Star Game - What to Expect


The Mexican League's All-Star Game in Monterrey is a week away and player rosters for both teams have been released.  The North team will be managed by Homar Rojas, who is skipper of the Monclova Acereros, who won the North title last season, while the South will be managed by Roberto Vizcarra, who is the current helmsman for the defending champion Quintana Roo Tigres. Vizcarra took over last May when Jerry Royster was fired and led the Tigres to their sixth Liga pennant since 2000 and twelfth overall by beating Monclova in the championship series.


Here are the 31-man player rosters for both All-Star teams, plus coaching staffs:



Pitchers (15) - Hector Ambriz (Tijuana), Alejandro Astuga (Laguna), Lorenzo Barcelo (Aguascalientes), Dustin Crenshaw (Laguna), Barry Enright (Tijuana), Edgar Gonzalez (Monterrey), Arcenio Leon (Monclova), Josh Lowey (Monclova), Wirfin Obispo (Monterrey), Tony Pena Jr. (Laguna), David Reyes (Mexico City), Hector Daniel Rodriguez (Saltillo), Atahualpa Severino (Monterrey), Jason Urquidez (Tijuana), Fabian Williamson (Monclova).

Catchers (2) - Eliezer Alfonzo (Mexico City), Juan Apodaca (Tijuana).

Infielders (8) -Jose Amador (Monclova),  Emmanuel Avila (Mexico City), Juan Carlos Gamboa (Mexico City), Cyle Hankerd (Mexico City), Diory Hernandez (Aguascalientes), Walter Ibarra (Monterrey), Agustin Murillo (Monterrey), Saul Soto (Aguascalientes).

Outfielders (6) - Zoilo Almonte (Monterrey), Justin Greene (Saltillo), Mario Lisson (Saltillo), Felix Perez (Monterrey), Chris Roberson (Monterrey), Ivan Terrazas (Mexico City).

Manager - Homar Rojas (Monclova).

Coaches - Adulfo Camacho (Aguascalientes), Luis Fernando Mendez (Mexico City), Julio Cesar Miranda (Monclova), Noe Munoz (Saltillo), Juan Francisco Rodriguez (Saltillo).



Pitchers (15) - Armando Aguilar (Yucatan), Raul Barron (Quintana Roo), Travis Blackley (Puebla), Esmailin Caridad (Quintana Roo), Chad Gaudin (Puebla), Antonio Guzman (Tabasco), Josh Judy (Quintana Roo), Orlando Lara (Puebla), Mario Meza (Yucatan), Fernando Nieve (Oaxaca), Jose Pina (Veracruz), Armando Rodriguez (Tabasco), Ivan Salas (Campeche), Tiago da Silva (Carmen), Jose de la Torre (Campeche).

Catchers (2) - Alan Espinoza (Veracruz), Cesar Tapia (Puebla).

Infielders (8) - Daric Barton (Puebla), Irving Falu (Oaxaca), Carlos Gastelum (Quintana Roo), Alex Liddi (Quintana Roo), Esteban Quiroz (Quintana Roo), C.J. Retherford (Campeche), Henry Alejandro Rodriguez (Carmen), Jose Manuel Rodriguez (Puebla).

Outfielders (6) - Nyjer Morgan (Puebla), Enrique Osorio (Veracruz), Alex Romero (Veracruz), Dave Sappelt (Campeche), Jesus Valdez (Yucatan), Jorge Vazquez (Quintana Roo).

Manager - Roberto Vizcarra (Quintana Roo).

Coaches (5) - Martin Arzate (Quintana Roo), Isidro Marquez (Campeche), Willie Romero (Yucatan), Gerardo Sanchez (Quintana Roo), Armando Valdez (Quintana Roo).


For those keeping count, host Monterrey will be represented by eight players (including the Sultanes' entire starting outfield) while Puebla and Quintana Roo will each send seven players north for the weekend.


At the other end of the spectrum, Reynosa will have no players nor coaches at the All-Star Game.  Granted, the Broncos have lost 15 straight ballgames and have the worst record in the Liga at 12-35, but even 14-34 Veracruz will have four players on the South team.  Instead of all 16 teams being represented next weekend, Reynosa players like first baseman Max Ramirez (.324, 5 homers) and outfielder Nick Van Stratten (.315 and a .302 hitter over his MiLB career) will have to watch the June 5 game at Estadio Monterrey on TV.





HomeGuru's Baseball Book StoreLink to UsBraintrust & Mailing ListsEmail the GuruContact InfoBaseball Analysis Home